letting go (for a friend)

Patty Brown
1 min readFeb 1, 2023

on letting go

i see my heart start to walk away

outside my body it goes

and i run to tell it no

i tell it where will we go

oh my heart aren’t you afraid

afraid to go away

afraid to stay

letting go though

is like flow

i must allow myself

to float into the mystical

the unknown

the uncertainty

and let the universe

reel me in

into that place

that longs for home

where i acknowledge

i can be free

and be loved

in my alone

yet feel intimacy

that anchors me

a place to belong

and recognize myself

as my own

no explanation

no apologies

the unique expression

of my mind

the architecture of my bones

--

--

Patty Brown

If life steers you into a dead end road, and you are trying to find your way, skip the GPS, take the road with no traffic. Founder studiO, early morning poet.